National Common Entrance Examination (NCEE)

The National Common Entrance Examination for admission into Junior Secondary School (JSS 1) of Federal Government Unity Colleges for 2018 will be held throughout the country and other interested foreign countries.

Only Final year pupils of Primary Schools are eligible for the exams.

Basic Education Certificate Examination (BECE)

To transit from the ninth year of the basic education class to the senior secondary, the BECE is conducted for candidates in their third year of the Junior Secondary School. While each state of the federation and the FCT conducts the BECE for its candidates, NECO conducts the BECE for Federal Unity Colleges, Armed Forces Secondary Schools and other Allied Institutions. Private Secondary schools also take part in the NECO BECE provided they are permitted by their State Ministries of Education. It is a certification examination. Following the 9-year compulsory Universal Basic Education, BECE certificate replaces the primary school certificate. Hence BECE certificate is now the First School Leaving Certificate.

The grading system is as follows:

A – Distinction
B – Upper Credit
C – Lower Credit
P – Pass
F – Fail

BECE comprises of 10 integrated subjects, out of which three are composite subjects. As follows:

1. Mathematics
2. English Studies
3. Basic Science & Technology
4. Religion & National Values
5. Cultural & Creative Arts
6. One Nigerian Language
7. French
8. Pre-vocational Studies
9. Business Studies
10. Arabic

A candidate is to offer a minimum of 9 and maximum of ten subjects. However, religion has been disarticulated from Religion and National Values. National Values is now a stand-alone subject, while Christian Religious Studies and Islamic religious Studies have been disarticulated as single subject each. The disarticulation has changed the Minimum number of BECE subjects to ten and maximum number to eleven.